Social Media – The Multi-Generational Phenomenon – Not Just Your Kid’s Pastime Anymore

I recently was speaking with a client of mine about their need to integrate Social Media into existing marking plans.  Their response was one that I am hearing more and more often, “I’ve heard about that Social Media, and I’ve even had a few of my clients say that I should be using Facebook, Twitter, or some other thing I can’t remember.  I just don’t know anything about it.  Can you meet with me and my partner to explain it?”

Social Media sites such as Facebook and Twitter have quickly become the craze among young people since their inception.  I have the privilege of coaching my daughter’s soccer team of 13 and 14 year old girls, 98% of which have Facebook accounts that they use throughout the day.  I’m sure it’s no surprise to anyone that more than 73% of teens are using social media.  Did you know, though, that more than 89% of Facebook users are adults 18 and older, and 93% of businesses are using some form of social media as part of their B2B marketing?  To further shed some light on this, according to the popular site socialnomics, if Facebook were a country, it would be the world’s 3rd largest and two times the size of the U.S. population.

Given the statistics above, it is clear that social media isn’t just for kids to gossip about how their day in school is going, the latest video game or movie, Suzie’s new boyfriend, or what Dave did at Friday night’s party.  More and more businesses are seeing the value in social media marketing and are developing very successful social media brand and sales campaigns.  Take Logos Bible Software’s brave initiative to exchange an email campaign to its database of 300,000 email addresses for a 100% social media campaign for this past year’s Black Friday promotion.  Without spending any money on marketing and with only about an hour’s time from conception to launch, they generated $300,000 in sales for the long weekend – three times what it brought in the year before (see the complete blog on one of my favorite blog sites, Social Media Examiner).

Will I meet with that client who asked me if I could explain Social Media marketing to them?  Absolutely!  One of my greatest joys, in both my professional and personal life, is helping others understand how they can use technology to make their lives easier, more interesting, and how they can use it to accomplish their everyday business goals. Also, if you haven’t taken the time to see how social media can benefit your business, I would urge you to do so now to start reaping the benefits right away.  As you can see, success could literally happen over a weekend!

This entry was posted in Business Relationships, Social Media, Technology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Social Media – The Multi-Generational Phenomenon – Not Just Your Kid’s Pastime Anymore

  1. Kam says:

    Your timing is impeccable. How did you know? I have a meeting tonight of the “social media committee” for my county fair. I will definately share this with the committee.

  2. greg jones says:

    Another job well presented Kevin. Just a thought if the font was lighter on the dark background it would be a little easier to read.

  3. Pingback: Social Media – The World Is Not That Big After All | tretechnologies.com

Leave a Reply

